Real People. Real Reviews.



 WATCH VIDEO

Real People. Real Reviews.



  WATCH REVIEWS VIDEO

Furniture is intimate and personal.

It helps transform a house into a home and serves as a witness to family history. Inviting Unruh Furniture into your life is a privilege we don’t take lightly. If you Google “Unruh Furniture”, you’ll find over one hundred 5 Star Reviews. Of all that we’ve built in this business, we are most proud of our record of customer satisfaction.

Furniture Reviews
Just visited Unruh for the first time. Amazing space and Carly was incredibly helpful. We wanted to buy everything in the church! Such beautiful pieces. Excited to see our new coffee table. Betsy Sears, September 2017
Furniture Reviews
We were overly surprised with our experience at Unruh. Carly took us through the process from start to finish. It’s our goal to eat at our Unruh table every night of the week. We love it! Barb Hendricks, September 2017
Furniture Reviews
I love our Unruh dining table. It’s beautiful and timeless, the staff is super helpful and friendly, and I love how you can customize it to be exactly what you want. Kyan Hammerbacher, September 2017
Furniture Reviews
My sideboard was just delivered and it is beautiful!! This company is amazing. Kindness, professionalism, and quality workmanship all come to mind when I think of my experience with them. Thank you for this wonderful gift! I am truly thankful! Karen Ingram, September 2017
Furniture Reviews
We had furnished our previous house at a big box store, and I know I didn’t want to go that route again. I wanted something I could leave for my children. So we went to Unruh. Walterbach Family, September 2017
Furniture Reviews
I am a single mom. I adopted my three girls, and we have a little boy staying with us from foster care. To have my daughter nominate me, proved that, hey, you’re doing a great job. Kim Baucom, August 2017
Furniture Reviews
I was completely smitten when I got to know Unruh Furniture. This is a family that runs a business, rather than a business that doesn’t have a soul. Eating around our new table is just marvelous. Abbe Lyle, August 2017
Furniture Reviews
Excellent product! Best customer service on the planet! Jeffery Turk, August 2017
Furniture Reviews
I was very impressed with the entire process. The showroom tour experience was very helpful and interesting. I found everyone to be kind and genuinely interested in providing a wonderful, high-quality piece of furniture for my family. The delivery team was courteous and respectful of my home. I would recommend Unruh to anyone without hesitation and I look forward to doing business with them again in the future. Valerie Collom, July 2017
Furniture Reviews
We’ve now bought two pieces from Unruh and couldn’t be happier. Our dining table is an amazing focal point of our main floor and the bed we could stare at forever! Add that on to superior and friendly customer service throughout the whole experience and you have the best furniture buying experience in KC. Gina Boos, July 2017
Furniture Reviews
Our Unruh experience was great from start to finish. I was constantly impressed by the constant, effective communication, as well as the great customer service. The workmanship is excellent and the showroom was an experience in and of itself. Our new dining room table is a centerpiece in our home. Stacia Troshynski Brown, May 2017
Furniture Reviews
Unruh is synonymous for exceptional quality! Check the dictionary, it’s in there! The staff is friendly, the product is of the highest quality, the entire experience was excellent! If you want something local, something a craftsman will stand behind for life and are looking for a timeless product then Unruh is for you. Derek Van Dyke, May 2017
Furniture Reviews
Our beautiful dining set was delivered this afternoon! We are so impressed with the beauty and durability of the pieces! So very happy with our entire experience from the showroom ordering process to the delivery and setup! We will for sure be back for future furniture purchases! Thanks, Unruh crew! Maggie Syrokosz, May 2017
Furniture Reviews
We won a beautiful table from Unruh at just the right time! Our antique farm table had formed big cracks in the top of it soon after we bought it and it was going to be expensive to fix. We love our new table; Sam was there when we picked it up; very friendly and he gave us a tour around when we asked. Highly recommend! Ashley Ward, May 2017
Furniture Reviews
I couldn’t speak more highly of our experience with Unruh furniture. The beauty, the quality, and the craftsmanship is beyond compare. We have a beautiful farmhouse table and three barn doors that have been built there period everyone comments on how beautiful they are and how they showcase our kitchen! And the warranty is beyond expected which was very important for us since we have eight kids and big dogs who like to chew! Thanks for all you guys have done! Susan Peach, April 2017
Furniture Reviews
Unruh crafted a sideboard for me that I use as my bourbon cabinet. I’ve had many compliments on this piece, and for good reason…..it is AWESOME!!!! Dave Harvey, April 2017
Furniture Reviews
My new bedroom set is amazing!! I love everything about it! Janessa Taylor, April 2017
Furniture Reviews
After having my Unruh Furniture for about two years, I began having issues with the hardware not holding up. True to their word, Unruh repaired my furniture at no cost. Sam and everyone from his crew have been great. Anthony St. Clair, March 2017
Furniture Reviews
Visiting the showroom is an amazing experience. The business is in an old beautiful church and the work is done in the empty sanctuary. All of the people that we dealt with were wonderful to work with! It’s so nice to be able to pick out the piece, kind of wood, kind of finish and dimensions that you want and have the piece custom made. In the showroom there are rooms set up with different pieces that they make so you can really get an idea of what the pieces will look like. You can tour the workspace and seethe craftsmen at work. We highly recommend this place. The piece we had made is beautiful. We looked all over town and the internet trying to find a distressed looking buffet and were very happy to eventually have found Unruh! Sharon Repper, March 2017
Furniture Reviews
Working with Unruh has been a truly wonderful experience. From the moment we walked into the showroom to delivery day, the Unruh team has provided exceptional service, communication and—most importantly—a high quality, beautiful piece of furniture! Lauren Cody, March 2017
Furniture Reviews
Amazing! Love our entertainment center. Can’t wait to collect more pieces! Kate DeMent, February 2017
Furniture Reviews
My husband and I were fortunate enough to visit the beautiful showroom and workshop of Unruh Furniture. We worked with Nathan to design our Perfect Dining Room Table, Bench, and Sideboard. These pieces are certainly heirloom pieces. The finished products are STUNNING! I’m so proud to showcase Unruh in my Home!!! Amber Countryman, January 2017
Furniture Reviews
Loved, loved our experience at Unruh!! Very kind, professional, timely service. Very impressed with the delivery process. Couldn’t be happier with our furniture and the way it turned out. Highly recommend! Emily Pearson, January 2017
Furniture Reviews
Words can’t describe how much love I have for Unruh Furniture. This farm table will forever be cherished in our home and generations to come. The memories we will make having family dinners, doing home work, late night chats… Thank you Unruh. Your craftsmanship is stunning and I know your heart and souls were put into this table. We are so forever blessed and thankful. Check them out KC. You’ll be glad you did! Amy Ashurst, January 2017
Furniture Reviews
My husband and I just received our custom bedroom furniture from Unruh and couldn’t be more pleased. From the moment we had a consultation with Nathan to pick out our pieces and design it was a great experience. He listened to our concerns made sure we had time to choose colors and even customized sizes that would fit our bedroom needs. Once the furniture was here I was so impressed with the delivery guys. They showed us how to put it all back together and even talked to us about who made our pieces. It felt so personal and special. We will definitely be returning for our furniture needs. Sarah Cornett, December 2016
Furniture Reviews
I couldn’t be happier with my furniture from Unruh! They worked with me one-on-one, and everything I requested was delivered exactly as promised. You won’t find anyplace like this. Joni Rauen, November 2016
Furniture Reviews
We bought a dining room table from Unruh Furniture after searching for about two years with no luck. Our table was even more beautiful than we imagined and we are thrilled with our decision. In addition, they have built a world-class team that prioritizes customer service and takes great pride in their work, which seems to be a rarity these days. I highly recommend Unruh Furniture, we will certainly be repeat customers. Lydia Kinkade, August 2016
Furniture Reviews
Only place in Kansas City to purchase quality furniture. Highly recommend! Max Lafferty, July 2016
Furniture Reviews
These guys have amazing craftsmanship and created a gorgeous table for friend of mine, based on their company’s vision …Tables for Single Moms. Their generosity was life changing and affirming for her. No doubt, their furniture is “phenomenal” and the only thing a notch above that is their combined character, integrity and charm! Kim Oakleaf-Soell, July 2016
Furniture Reviews
Unruh Furniture provided the highest level of service, craftsmanship, and genuine customer service. It is rare to have such an authentic experience with the craftsman creating products! I have to think it is the best at providing custom furniture in the area, if not the country. Matthew Benage, June 2016
Furniture Reviews
The guys delivered my new hutch just a little while ago and it is perfect. It is just what I had envisioned. I wish I needed more furniture because I would love to work with you again on another handcrafted masterpiece. Thank you so much! And special thanks to your delivery crew today for their hard work and managing to get the hutch in and in place without having to raise the ceiling or remove a light fixture. They were terrific! Mark Hays, June 2016
Furniture Reviews
My wife and I had a butcher block table and a rustic headboard made by the great folks at Unruh furniture. We cannot say enough how great the quality of their craftsmanship is! Friendly service and such a cool local company. Five stars. We will be recommending them to all our friends in KC. John Lothman, May 2016
Furniture Reviews
Unruh Furniture makes great looking and the best quality furniture I have seen. We have several Unruh pieces in our home which will stand the test of time and look amazing. The entire process at Unruh was great everyone was very helpful and you can rest assured they will do a terrific job. I would recommend Unruh Furniture to anyone and will definitely be purchasing more furniture from them in the future! Nick Topping, April 2016
Furniture Reviews
Our experience with Unruh Furniture was awesome! We were looking for a narrower piece of furniture and all that we found in stores would have been too wide. We are SO glad we went to Unruh for a custom built sideboard as we were able to order exactly what we needed for that space in our home. Very customer friendly, all electronic communication was answered promptly. Looking forward to visiting their new location soon. Will definitely share our positive experience with friends…we highly recommend Unruh Furniture! Peggy Chandler,
Furniture Reviews
I contacted Unruh to inquire if they would make us a custom table out of our own reclaimed barn wood. They not only agreed to the task but were extremely excited to work with our wood. From the moment we placed our order to the delivery of our wood, we heard from multiple people including Sam and Josh about how awesome this table was going to be. It did not disappoint. It is truly an heirloom we will pass down for generations. I love that this is a local group of true artists and is now a part of the story of this beautiful table in our dining room. Thanks, Unruh! Samantha Shepard,
Furniture Reviews
Every part of my experience with the folks at Unruh has been extremely positive. It is such a pleasure having the right-sized table and ample seating for my growing brood. Dori Brown, April 2016
Furniture Reviews
If I could, I would give Unruh 10 stars! The whole process from start to finish was great. Our table and bench will be something we have forever. Kelsey Stabenow,
Furniture Reviews
Our experience with Unruh Furniture has been one that tops them all. From the moment we walked in, it was a custom experience. We were personally greeted by name, walked around, and given the most patient and extraordinary customer service. Jennifer Dye, March 2016
Furniture Reviews
What a great company….from start to finish! We loved our visit to the showroom. You need to make an appointment but it is totally worth it as you get personalized, one-on-one attention. We were able to say exactly what we wanted in our piece (a desk) and we were 110% satisfied! Communication was excellent! We needed to make a few changes/additions to our piece and they accommodated all of them. They provided a date that the piece would be complete and it was delivered on that date. The delivery was smooth and professional. This is a wonderful company that we highly recommend! The craftsmanship is amazing! You will not be disappointed! Angie Demoss,
Furniture Reviews
Amazing place with phenomenal furniture. Wonder people. John Scalise,
Furniture Reviews
We picked our piece today and absolutely love it! The quality and craftsmanship is nothing you find in a store! We plan to use Unruh again in the near future! Kelly Patton,
Furniture Reviews
We just purchased two large barn doors and a bed from Unruh; the pieces are high quality and extremely well made. Kristan Gutierrez,
Furniture Reviews
Everyone at Unruh was super friendly and helpful; communication was excellent and the whole process was a breeze. Our table was ready almost two weeks early (yay!) and they even texted when they were on their way to deliver it. It doesn’t get much better than that! We love our table and would recommend Unruh Furniture to anyone in the KC area who wants something local, handmade and special. Thanks for helping make our dining room one of my favorite spaces at home! Judith Shuey, February 2016
Furniture Reviews
This is the best place to get your custom made furniture! They did a wonderful thing for me and my family; we love our table and I would recommend this place to everyone I know. The work is amazing, they have great customer service, and they are very dedicated to their work. I just love what they do for people—it brings my family together. Kiki Comeger, January 2016
Furniture Reviews
Everything about Unruh is lovable. The staff was so great. Delivery went perfectly. This is a high-quality table that we will keep in our family for many years to come. Beth Strobel, January 2016
Furniture Reviews
We’ve been buying furniture from Sam since the early days of his business. The first item was a custom coffee table and later a dining table, bed frame, nightstands, and dresser. We love the rustic styling and excellent quality. We would definitely go back! Julie Shipp, December 2015
Furniture Reviews
We love our new table, thank you for making beautiful furniture! Erica Wright Brune, November 2015
Furniture Reviews
After what felt like countless hours spent searching KC for the right table for our new home, my Wife and I decided to look at having somebody build us exactly what we wanted. I figured this would not only be more expensive but be a pain to find someone to build what we wanted. I was wrong. We stumbled on these positive reviews, set up an appointment, Josh walked us through the options, and we had our piece spec’d out in no time. Sam and Josh were very informative and were always quick to respond to any questions my wife and I had. All in all, the table looks great, we are very happy and we were able to help support a local business in the process. Thanks, Unruh Furniture! Tyler Pudenz, October 2015
Furniture Reviews
Unruh Furniture is a great local company making custom and traditional furniture, great quality, incredible prices and wonderful service. So happy to have worked with them. Mindy Brown, July 2015
Furniture Reviews
Oh man! There are not enough words to describe how pleased I am about my sideboard media console! I am in LOVE with it!! They did an amazing job and it is just beautiful!! They were awesome to work with and so kind and polite. I can’t wait to have other pieces made for our house!!! Thanks, Unruh Furniture crew!! Jessica Johnson, June 2015
Furniture Reviews
We love, love, love our oxford dining table, chairs, and bench. The craftmanship is outstanding and although we have only had it a few weeks, we are fast building our family traditions including our English Sunday Roast as I am from the UK. I am so happy I found you guys. We wish you guys continued success. What an experience to actually see your furniture being made and a bonus of it being delivered by the craftsmen themselves. Thank you, Sam and everyone at Unruh. Dawn Stutzman,
Furniture Reviews
Incredible. We absolutely love our new dining room table. These guys are so professional that I’m blown away. From the first tour we received from Ben at their facility to the details provided around the design of the table, I’ve been impressed the whole time. Even the delivery guys (Kyle and Joel) were great! They were super kind to my 3-year-old son as he directed them to where the table went and they were informative of how to clean and take care of the table. I’m so excited for this to be a centerpiece in our family for years to come. I will be buying many more pieces from them in the future. I wish they had interest free financing but that could get dangerous because I would buy far more pieces than I should. Shea McGinnity,
Furniture Reviews
Incredible craftsmanship and quality and a joy to work with! Ben Gebhards,
Furniture Reviews
After MONTHS of looking for the perfect tables at every store in the entire Metro, I was at a loss. I just couldn’t find the quality I wanted with the look I wanted. I found Unruh’s website and went to the showroom to inspect the quality. The quality was exactly what I was looking for, plus I could pick my own colors and customize it. I received my dining room and kitchen table (I initially went to buy one but couldn’t resist the other) 2 weeks ago. They are simply STUNNING and the craftsmanship is beautiful. I cannot begin to explain how much I love my tables. And a huge THANK YOU to Sam and his staff for making the process so easy. Thank you, Sam!!! You will always be my first stop for any custom furniture I need. Jen Gilstrap, May 2015
Furniture Reviews
I am so pleased with the beautiful table, bench, and chairs that we got from Unruh furniture. The entire process was fun. I loved going to the showroom and picking everything out from style to stain colors. And the best part of it is that I know that no one has a table just like mine. This is a furniture piece that I want to pass down to my children. Thanks, guys! I am already planning out my next piece! Noelle Davis,
Furniture Reviews
I bought a desk for my home office from Unruh and I love it. The showroom does a great job of showing you what they have. I love the fact that you can customize much of the product you choose. The quality is awesome, the price value is exceptional and the customer service is outstanding! Could not be happier with this company and glad they are in suburban KC! Pete Malone,
Furniture Reviews
Sam the owner is an incredible professional. He is a true craftsman with extreme talent. Also very easy to work with because he is genuine and friendly all around. Tony Thompson, April 2015
Furniture Reviews
I Love everything he has built for us. I admire my table every day. It is truly art! Michelle Wilkerson,
Furniture Reviews
This is my favorite furniture ever!!!!!! The quality and craftsmanship are incredible and really rare to find these days! Christina Carson,
Furniture Reviews
As my husband said, this is our absolute favorite piece of furniture in our entire house! Each person I interacted with was kind, genuine, and knowledgeable. It’s a wonderful thing when passion and skill intersect. Thank you for your hard work and amazingly beautiful work to show for it. Our meals are now shared around the beautiful kitchen table and chairs a la Unruh, and we already have already talked about an entertainment center in the near future. Thank you for sharing your talents with the rest of us. It is no ordinary kitchen table, and we are beyond grateful! Brooke Hodnefield, April 2015
Furniture Reviews
Unruh Furniture creates custom made high-end furniture at very good rates. I have had a buffet table and a dining room table made by Unruh furniture. I was able to have furniture made that fit the space available in my home rather than go to a store and make compromises about what I wanted. Mark Hale, March 2015
Furniture Reviews
I cannot say enough good things about Unruh. I looked a long time for something as high quality as our Belmont pedestal table. Nothing really compared. Supporting local business is important to me and my family and it made it even more worthwhile when I met with Sam. They have the cutest showroom it allowed me to see the stain colors and quality of work. When it arrived last Saturday my husband and I were so happy with it, it’s beautiful. It makes our house a home and we cannot wait to have Sunday dinners and fill it with family and friends. Ericka Eiserer,
Furniture Reviews
We are so pleased with furniture that was delivered this weekend! Ben and The entire team at Unruh was wonderful to work with. They took an idea and created two perfect pieces for our home. Take a few hours and visit their workshop/showroom. They have amazing ideas and can build anything. The quality of the pieces is unmatched! Support your local business and check them out! Cassie Graham,
Furniture Reviews
We contacted Sam about creating a Farmhouse dining room table for the 1930 Farmhouse we were renovating. I was nervous about the entire process because I had never designed and purchased furniture before. Sam was very kind and helped walk me through the process. When we picked up our table, we were beyond ecstatic with the way it turned out. It truly is beautiful and we receive compliments on it from every single person that comes to our house. We are finishing up remodeling our master bedroom now, and once it’s complete, we will be designing and ordering a bed from Sam. Mary Krejci, February 2015
Furniture Reviews
My husband and I recently purchased a new home. While we were furniture shopping, we came across Unruh Furniture…lucky us!! We made an appointment to go visit right away. Before we knew it, the farm table of my I had wanted for years was being hand made – just for us! (and a beautiful sideboard!) Sam was professional, kind, and extremely helpful in guiding us from dream to delivery. Everyone that sits at my gorgeous dining table wants to know where it came from. I can only imagine how many meals we will share with family and friends at my table. Erin Brown,
Furniture Reviews
Unruh has high quality, custom pieces for essentially the same price you’d pay for something you *might* learn to love at a big box furniture retailer. We purchased a hairpin dining room table and love it. We’ll be back as our house evolves and we come up with another project! Brandon Laughridge,
Furniture Reviews
We just received our kitchen table, bench, and chairs and absolutely LOVE everything. The guys at Unruh were wonderful I work with—they will definitely be the first call we make next time we need furniture. Thanks to the Unruh team!! Katie Daniels,
Furniture Reviews
Our new table was delivered over the weekend, and we are so thrilled! Measuring in at over nine feet long, it’s the perfect piece for home and our family. The entire process was easy with Unruh Furniture, and we are so pleased with the craftsmanship. Thank you for the table that will feed many friends and family for years and years to come! Victoria Luhrs Lynch,
Furniture Reviews
I just wanted to comment on how impressed I am with the business philosophy these folks employ. As a former single mom of two boys who are now grown, we spent every night at our hand-me-down, repaired table eating dinner and talking about life. I firmly believe that LIFE happens and LOVE is expressed at the dining room table. As an aside, I’ve noticed that my boys, too, as in your video, still sit in their unassigned “assigned seats” at the table when we gather now, even though they are in their 20s and bring their girlfriends to the table with them. Now I know why! Thanks for being a great business, and having such a wonderful business ethic. Mary Jane Rhoades Kuehnert,
Furniture Reviews
We ordered our kitchen table this past year. The service was stellar and the table is exquisite. It is something that will be passed down through the generations. We have referred several friends and family to you because we are all about supporting the local business and the family AND we know they will not be disappointed! Thank you just isn’t enough! Kristen McDowell, February 2015
Furniture Reviews
What a wonderful experience we had with Unruh Furniture! From the initial meeting at the shop to the pick-up of our piece, it was awesome! We got our custom piece made to our exact specifications and it looks great in our family room. Thanks! Molly Costello, February 2015
Furniture Reviews
My entire home office is furnished with Unruh Furniture…and I couldn’t be more pleased! I look forward to adding more pieces to my home—in addition to the coffee table, I purchased recently. Sarah Druliner, January 2015
Furniture Reviews
The table I bought will be able to fit in with any style to come. It sounds weird planning ahead to what future trends may be, but the furniture is so well built I have no doubt that my table will outlast me, despite my laid back bachelor lifestyle. I can’t recommend Unruh Furniture enough, especially if you want to customize your new piece of furniture and truly make it your own. J. Clark Poland, December 2014
Furniture Reviews
Absolutely fantastic excellent quality furniture! We’ve had several pieces made and LOVE Unruh furniture! Kara Doak, November 2014
Furniture Reviews
If you are looking for furniture that is well built and a great price, Unruh Furniture is the place to go. Sam does not use cheap particle board used in most furniture today, he uses all solid wood, making for a great piece of furniture for generations to come. Andy Mullet, October 2014
Furniture Reviews
Our beautiful table and chairs were delivered this morning. Benjamin and Josiah were quick and personable, delivering and setting everything up. The dining set is simply stunning. It is perfect for our space and our family! We look forward to many family meals around this table in the years to come. Thank you! Katrina Ogden Kanary, September 2014
Furniture Reviews
I just wanted to hop on here and write a little something. Last September we were moving into our new home. I approached Sam about building our custom dining table and his wife about a world map for our upstairs hallway. Both of them nailed it on the head and accomplished everything we hoped for! These are two staple pieces of our home and we couldn’t be happier! Thank you again, guys and everyone who buys here is getting the best from a great couple! Curtis Walls, July 2014
Furniture Reviews
We love our sideboard! You will be hard pressed to find better quality furniture that is affordable, too. Bridgid Driscoll, May 2014
Furniture Reviews
We purchased a dining room table and benches in January and absolutely love them. The quality of craftsmanship is excellent and the customer service is too. We have received compliments on the table by everyone who comes to our home. I look forward to purchasing more furniture in the future. Melissa Christy, February 2014
Furniture Reviews
Our dining room table made it to our new home about an hour ago and I didn’t want to wait any longer to thank Sam and his finisher. Sam was extremely responsive, easy to work with and delivered an absolutely beautiful piece. Thank you, guys!!! This table will be in our family for years to come! Kristen Duewel, January 2014