crest

LOVE YOUR WORK AND YOU WILL FIND JOY IN ITS MASTERY. Be Unruhly.

Furniture is intimate and personal.

It helps transform a house into a home and serves as a witness to family history. Inviting Unruh Furniture into your life is a privilege we don’t take lightly. If you Google “Unruh Furniture”, you’ll find over one hundred 5 Star Reviews. Of all that we’ve built in this business, we are most proud of our record of customer satisfaction.






Here is a sample of what you can find on the internet:


“Visiting the showroom is an amazing experience. The business is in an old beautiful church and the work is done in the empty sanctuary. All of the people that we dealt with were wonderful to work with! It’s so nice to be able to pick out the piece, kind of wood, kind of finish and dimensions that you want and have the piece custom made. In the showroom, there are rooms set up with different pieces that they make so you can really get an idea of what the pieces will look like. You can tour the workspace and see the craftsmen at work. We highly recommend this place. The piece we had made is beautiful. We looked all over town and the internet trying to find a distressed looking buffet and were very happy to eventually have found Unruh!”

— Sharon Repper | Google Review, April 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Working with Unruh has been a truly wonderful experience. From the moment we walked into the showroom to delivery day, the Unruh team has provided exceptional service, communication and—most importantly—a high quality, beautiful piece of furniture!”

— Lauren Cody | Google Review, April 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I couldn’t speak more highly of our experience with Unruh furniture. The beauty, the quality, and the craftsmanship is beyond compare. We have a beautiful farmhouse table and three barn doors that have been built there period everyone comments on how beautiful they are and how they showcase our kitchen! And the warranty is beyond expected which was very important for us since we have eight kids and big dogs who like to chew! Thanks for all you guys have done!”

— Susan Peach | Google Review, April 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh Furniture is one of the hidden jewels of Kansas City. The furniture is of the highest quality, the values this company represents are exceptional, and the staff are extremely courteous and very attentive to detail. If you seek quality furniture that will last a lifetime, functionally excellent, and which will last for the remainder of your lifetime, go with Unruh. You cannot go wrong!”

— Jeanine Meiers | Google Review, April 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“From the moment I called Unruh for information through the delivery of my desk/table today I have been very impressed with Unruh. The furniture exceeded my expectation and I am thrilled. Unruh is very much into customer service and satisfaction and it shows! Also their business now located in an old church is awesome.”

— Gayle Best | Google Review, April 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My table was delivered today. The entire experience of going to the showroom to the delivery is outstanding. What I love about the piece; it is customized to what I wanted. It fits in my nook perfectly. “Over the Moon” with how beautiful the table and chairs look in the space.”

— Cynthia Condreay | Google Review, March 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I had a bed and a dresser made. They are absolutely stunning! The only complaint I have was they were finished a month before they told me they were going to be done… which was only bad because I had to rush out to find a mattress and rearrange my furniture before I was expecting to, but that is a minor issue considering! The delivery guys were great and they took great care in not damaging the furniture or my walls when getting the large pieces around the tight turns of my hallway!!! I will be going back to Unruh to order more pieces to complete my collection in the future! I highly recommend this company. They make quality pieces that will last a lifetime!”

— Kim Williams | Google Review, March 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I purchased a mid-century desk and it’s an incredible piece of furniture. The Unruh team creates extremely high-quality furniture. Everything from ordering to delivery was perfect. I couldn’t be happier!”

— Brian Lair | Google Review, March 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Received our beautiful dining room set today and love it! Everything is exactly what we wanted, we are so happy with how well everything is made! Great experience from day one at the Showroom with our ordering process to our delivery and setup today. Very nice and helpful employees! We 100% recommend Unruh Furniture!”

— Maggie Syrokosz | Google Review, February 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh Furniture was exceptional to work with from start to finish. The sales team, craftsmen and delivery people were all great and went out of their way to assure our satisfaction. I will use again. I love my table and bench.”

— Carrie Englert | Google Review, February 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We received our new dresser and are so pleased with the way it looks in our bedroom. It is so beautiful and so well made. The drawers slide out so nicely and you can tell it will last forever! The whole experience with Unruh was amazing. The delivery experience was especially great. The guys who delivered the furniture actually worked on our piece and were so proud of their work. Unruh is such a great company and has an awesome story! Highly recommend!”

— Candy Barth | Google Review, January 2017 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My husband and I were fortunate enough to visit the beautiful showroom and workshop of Unruh Furniture. We worked with Nathan to design our Perfect Dining Room Table, Bench, and Sideboard. These pieces are certainly heirloom pieces. The finished products are stunning! I’m so proud to showcase Unruh in my Home!”

— Amber Countryman | Google Review, December 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My husband and I just received our custom bedroom furniture from Unruh and couldn’t be more pleased. From the moment we had a consultation with Nathan to pick out our pieces and design it was a great experience. He listened to our concerns made sure we had time to choose colors and even customized sizes that would fit our bedroom needs. I anxiously awaited the furniture arrival and was worried I would not get the pieces before thanksgiving, but Unruh made sure they delivered the Monday before. They kept me up to date at where they were before the delivery and made it convenient for us. Once the furniture was here I was so impressed with the delivery guys. They showed us how to put it all back together and even talked to us about who made our pieces. It felt so personal and special. We will definitely be returning for our furniture needs.”

— Sarah French | Google Review, December 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We purchased our new dining table & barn door through Unruh & could not be happier! Not only are we thrilled with the items themselves, we were so happy with the entire experience! From start to finish, every single person we’ve talked to/worked with has been so completely helpful and friendly; that coupled with the amazing craftsmanship just made this entire process unique and enjoyable. We would (and DO) strongly recommend using Unruh when you’re thinking of your next furniture purchase – you won’t be anything but immensely pleased.”

— Suzanne Hilker | Google Review, November 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I first found out about Unruh when they initially opened at their old location. After talking personally with Sam and driving out to KC I was immediately blown away with how down to earth and passionate he was. Needles to say years later I am proud to own two amazing pieces of furniture in my home. Some may say the price is steep but you truly cannot get better quality and customer service. I recently had an issue where my pieces were damaged in moving and even with a tight moving timeline they took in my pieces and completely refinished them in a matter of days. If that doesn’t speak volumes to their continued care past point of sale nothing does. I only hope I can continue to fill my home with their wonderful pieces. Thank you again and so happy to see Unruh continuing to grow without sacrificing quality or service.”

— Sebastian Veltze | Google Review, November 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We feel lucky to have found Unruh! No more searching for just the right piece at all the chain stores! Great furniture from a group of really nice people with a great story! Can’t wait to have you build more! Thanks for the experience, we’ll send anyone that will listen your way!”

— Bret Beeman | Google Review, October 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“What a wonderful experience we had with Unruh Furniture! From the initial meeting at the shop to the pick-up of our piece, it was awesome! We got our custom piece made to our exact specifications and it looks great in our family room. Thanks!”

— Molly Costello | Google Review, September 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We bought a dining room table from Unruh Furniture after searching for about two years with no luck. Our table was even more beautiful than we imagined and we are thrilled with our decision. In addition, they have built a world-class team that prioritizes customer service and takes great pride in their work, which seems to be a rarity these days. I highly recommend Unruh Furniture, we will certainly be repeat customers.”

— Lydia Kinkade | Google Review, August 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“The handmade furniture is absolutely stunning. Its also super cool that you can see right where it is made through the windows in the showroom. And their warranty on the finish is fantastic… if anything happens to the finish for as long as you own it, bring it back and they will fix it for free.”

— Brad Hunt | Google Review, August 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“When moving our family to a new home we found we had a very specific space we could place a dressor. We looked at all of the factory furniture we could go no avail. I decided to search for a custom furniture make and immediately found Unruh. It appeared that they could make a piece that was molded to our space. We met at the shop and found a dressor we liked but we wanted a little bit different configuration than offered. They immediately agreed to make the piece. We picked up the furniture a few weeks later. We have been happy ever since. We are currently waiting for our second piece, a very custom entertainment center. We can’t wait.”

— Andrew Elsen | Google Review, July 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We had Unruh build a table for us and we love it! They customized it for us in size, shape and design. We have had sixteen people around it for dinner, a real family memory building experience.”

— Janice Bennett | Google Review, July 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Worth the money, worth the time, worth everything. In an age when it is nearly impossible to get quality products at a fair price with amazing customer service, Unruh is a spectacular find for anyone who really loves and admires fine craftsmanship.”

— Goldina McKnight | Google Review, July 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I really don’t know where to begin about my buying experience with Sam and the team at Unruh. I was in need of a new table but knew I didn’t want some mass-produced piece of fiberboard from some factory mill somewhere. After talking with a few local woodworking guys at area antique shows, I stumbled upon Unruh Furniture through word of mouth from a friend, and boy am I glad I did! Although their website is crisp and gives a good descriptor of the different options and alternative, the experience really takes on a different level once you actually go to their shop to see, feel and touch their furniture (and the ability to look out in the workshop to see actual pieces being made is pretty cool too!). It sounds corny but it really does feel like my kitchen table was made by family, and will last well into my (future) grandchildren’s future. Prices are very reasonable in comparison, for what you get in quality. Can’t say enough good things, but will never buy big box retail furniture ever again!”

— Brian Johnston | Google Review, July 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I contacted Unruh to inquire if they would make us a custom table out of our own reclaimed barnwood. They not only agreed to the task but were extremely excited to work with our wood. From the moment we placed our order to the delivery of our wood, we heard from multiple people including Sam and Josh about how awesome this table was going to be. It did not disappoint. It is truly an heirloom we will pass down for generation. I love that this is a local group of true artists and is now a part of the story of this beautiful table in our dining room. Thanks Unruh!”

— Samantha Shepard | Google Review, July 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We bought the Baker’s Field table in maple wood with weathered oak stain to give it a light, airy almost ‘beach wood’ vibe. Everything about Unruh is lovable: from our showroom visit, where Nathan came in on a Sunday to help us, to the tour of the shop, to selecting the perfect wood and finish and size; the staff was so great. Delivery went perfectly. This is a high quality table that we will keep in our family for many years to come. Totally worth the money.”

— Beth Strobel | Google Review, June 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh Furniture provided the highest level of service, craftsmanship, and genuine customer service. It is rare to have such an authentic experience with the craftsman creating products! I have to think it is the best at providing custom furniture in the area, if not the country. I felt that the pricing was very reasonable, especially for the high quality. Sam and Josh really went out of their way to make me and my wife feel like highly valued customers. I would recommend to all those in need of furniture in Kansas City! And I hear that it will be getting even cooler once their church opens up! What a great Kansas City business!”

— Matthew Benage | Google Review, June 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“If I could, I would give Unruh 10 stars! The whole process from start to finish was great. The team is creative, professional, friendly and excellent with communication. Our table and bench will be something we have forever, not only is it a beautiful piece, it is also great quality work. The price is reasonable too! Some of the best memories are made around a kitchen table, so its more than just handcrafted wood to me. We look forward to working with Unruh again.”

— Kelsey Stabenow | Google Review, May 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We had a coffee table built with English Walnut. The wood belonged to us and we wanted a unique piece. Unruh finished the wood beautifully and we have a new conversation piece in our living room. The customer service is exceptional and the staff is knowledgeable.”

— Rick Otis | Google Review, May 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My experience with Unruh furniture was everything I was hoping for… they were very patient with me while making my final decision on the table and bench… I’m so happy with it that I almost cried when it was put in my dining room. It’s beautiful and so sturdy—I love it! It was well worth the 3 hour trip for me to get there. Great experience!”

— Brenda Stallsmith | Google Review, April 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Every part of my experience with the folks at Unruh has been extremely positive – from my visit there, to Josh helping me decide the best type of table for my needs – to the friendly guys delivering it – much earlier than promised! I had it in time to host my family for Easter dinner and it was such a pleasure having the right-sized table and ample seating for my growing brood. My table, chairs, and bench are absolutely gorgeous and I love knowing that they are not only beautiful but so sturdy and well-made that they will certainly be handed down through the family line for generations.”

— Dori Brown | Google Review, April 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Our experience with Unruh Furniture was awesome! We were looking for a narrower piece of furniture and all that we found in stores would have been too wide. We are SO glad we went to Unruh for a custom built sideboard as we were able to order exactly what we needed for that space in our home. Very customer friendly, all electronic communication was answered promptly. Looking forward to visiting their new location soon. Will definitely share our positive experience with friends. We highly recommend Unruh Furniture!”

— Peggy Chandler | Google Review, April 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We purchased a Benton sideboard as a TV console for our living room. It was delivered last Thursday, and I’ve been grinning ear-to-ear since then! the console is fantastically built (with quality), and it is beautiful. We couldn’t have chosen a better piece of furniture. We will absolutely look to Unruh Furniture as we add new pieces in the future. Thank you, Unruh, for creating a wonderful piece for us!”

— Lori Cross | Google Review, April 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Absolutely love our new custom kitchen island! Went into the showroom with ideas to use a farmhouse style table raised up to counter height as our kitchen island. The piece is stunning! The bottom is distressed cream with a mocha stained butcher block on top! We have not used our old dining room table since we received the new island. The staff was professional and very helpful! The quality is amazing! We will be back to order a dining table and side table very soon!”

— Christy Williams | Google Review, March 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My wife and I had a butcher block table and a rustic headboard made by the great folks at Unruh furniture. We cannot say enough how great the quality of their craftsmanship is! Friendly service and such a cool local company. Five stars, will be recommending them to all our friends in KC.”

— John Lothman | Google Review, February 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“This is the best place to get your custom made furniture! They did a wonderful thing for me and my family we love our table. I would recommend this place to everyone I know. The work is amazing; great customer service, and they are very dedicated to there work. I just love what they do for people; it brings my family together.”

— Kiki Comeger | Google Review, January 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh recently built our family a dining room table that far and away exceeded our expectations. To say this table is beautiful is an understatement. It is literally a piece of art hand crafted by very talented craftsman. What’s really neat about the table is when our home was built an old walnut tree had to be removed to erect the home. The individuals that built our home had the tree cut into rough cut boards and we asked if they could utilize the boards for our project. They did and Unruh did an amazing job of turning our lumber into a table that will be in our family forever. In fact, we liked them so much we placed a second order when we picked up our table. Great people and a great product. ”

— James Sutton | Google Review, January 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I can’t say enough about Unruh. I happened to hear about them through word of mouth. They made us a Clydesdale table that I anticipate will last years and be a piece that is passed down to my children’s children. We went to their shop in Grandview, for me personally it was helpful to see the tables in person and the various finishes. The payment process was very easy. They gave us helpful suggestions on typical sizes and seating accommodations, but ultimately with our space we ended up with a custom size. Unruh was extremely responsive to any questions/communications. Our table was delivered this weekend and the guys were fantastic. They made sure we knew how to care for the table. I received a follow up email the next day. This type of personalized service is rare and usually costly, Unruh is a gem and I highly recommend them.”

— Michelle McLean | Google Review, January 2016 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“What a great company….from start to finish! We loved our visit to the showroom. You need to make an appointment but it is totally worth it as you get personalized, one-on-one attention. We were able to say exactly what we wanted in our piece (a desk) and we were 110% satisfied! Communication was excellent! We needed to make a few changes/additions to our piece and they accommodated all of them. They provided a date that the piece would be complete and it was delivered on that date. The delivery was smooth and professional. This is a wonderful company that we highly recommend! The craftmanship is amazing! You will not be disappointed!”

— Angie Demoss | Google Review, December 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“The care and attention to detail shows in every aspect of the furniture we received. From the first visit to their showroom to the delivery they were first class. Everything I purchase from here on out will come from Unruh Furniture. The quality is second to none.”

— Ryan Caldwell | Google Review, December 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Thanks Unruh! My kids and I love our dining room table and bench! You have a great team!! Thanks again!”

— Loretha Galbreath | Google Review, December 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“This IS the place to go to for beautiful handcrafted furniture of the highest quality. You will NOT get better customer service anywhere! The excellence of their craftsmanship is matched by the commitment and care that went in to making my customized dining room table — all of which were executed faithfully. Every contact from the initial order through delivery to follow-up was exceptional. I heartily recommend them to anyone. I am experiencing the JOY of having a 9 foot French Country table (that was a gift) — sitting magnificently as a centerpiece in my home… just waiting to be filled with all kinds of fellowship (and good food). Thank you Sam and Haley and the employees at Unruh!! I FEEL THE LOVE!!”

— Lisa Sangster | Google Review, November 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh Furniture makes great looking and the best quality furniture I have seen. We have several Unruh pieces in our home which will stand the test of time and look amazing. The entire process at Unruh was great everyone was very helpful and you can rest assured they will do a terrific job. I would recommend Unruh Furniture to anyone and will definitely be purchasing more furniture from them in the future!”

— Nick Topping | Google Review, November 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I have worked with Unruh multiple times and their service and quality are top notch. There staff is very friendly, reliable and responsive. Their pieces are beautiful, well-priced and well made!”

— Jenna Halvorson | Google Review, November 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Some friends of ours recommended Unruh Furniture to us and I’m so glad they did. Our kitchen table is great quality and looks terrific. We like supporting a local business and all the guys were very friendly You can tell these guys love what they do. Thanks Sam!”

— Beth Bevil | Google Review, November 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We are SO happy with our new kitchen table from Unruh Furniture. The entire process was so smooth and the employees were incredibly patient and helpful. I was having a hard time making up my mind in terms of size and color so it was nice that I had a few weeks to make my final decisions before they began. I would recommend Unruh Furniture to anyone and will definitely be purchasing more furniture from them in the future!”

— Corey Alpert | Google Review, November 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Everyone at Unruh was super friendly and helpful; communication was excellent and the whole process was a breeze. Our table was ready almost two weeks early (yay!) and they even texted when they were on their way to deliver it. It doesn’t get much better than that! We love our table and would recommend Unruh Furniture to anyone in the KC area who wants something local, handmade and special. Thanks for helping make our dining room one of my favorite spaces at home!”

— Judith Shuey | Google Review, November 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Love our new table. The ability to pick your dimensions was awesome, as we had limited space and wanted a table that could accommodate 6 people. Solid construction. Very nice people to work with too!”

— Erick Roeder | Google Review, November 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Our experience with Unruh Furniture has been one that tops them all. From the moment we walked in, it was a custom experience. We were personally greeted by name, walked around, and given the most patient and extraordinary customer service. ”

— Jennifer Dye | Google Review, October 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My husband and I needed a bar for our remodeled basement but it is a smaller space and we couldn’t find what we were looking for at any of the usual suspects. We met with Sam and he suggested a modified sideboard with a wider top to fulfill the “bar” aspect of what we were looking for. My husband has been collecting bottle caps and wine corks in order to make a bar top and Sam was also able to accommodate that request for us. It arrived on Sunday early in our scheduled window and it is perfect! The size is just right, the color is beautiful and the quality is so beyond anything we had looked at previously. We could not be more pleased with the piece! I will definitely be ordering more pieces from Unruh as we continue our remodeling!!”

— Andrea Fletcher | Google Review, October 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“After what felt like countless hours spent searching KC for the right table for our new home, my Wife and I decided to look at having somebody build us exactly what we wanted. I figured this would not only be more expensive, but a pain to find someone to build what we wanted. I was wrong. We stumbled on these positive reviews, set up an appointment, Josh walked us through the options, and we had our piece spec’d out in no time. Sam and Josh were very informative and were always quick to respond to any questions my wife and I had. All in all, the table looks great, we are very happy and we were able to help support a local business in the process. Thanks Unruh Furniture!”

— Tyler Pudenz | Google Review, October 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I ordered two bookcases and they are absolutely wonderful! Everyone was great to work with from the initial ordering to delivery. They answered all my questions promptly throughout the process. I’ve been gushing about my new bookcases to my family and friends. My only regret is that I didn’t order a third one! I will definitely be using them again in the future!”

— Leah Jones | Google Review, September 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We ordered some dining room furniture from Unruh and couldn’t be happier with the product and the overall customer experience. My wife wanted to get the table in time for a fast approaching wedding shower; this limited the Unruh group to getting our custom order complete and delivered inside of 3 weeks. They committed to get it done and they followed through. The product looks great and we are very happy with our purchase. Special shout out to Josh and the customer service that he provided; made the process quick and easy. We will be looking to use Unruh in the future for our custom furniture needs. ”

— Brett Dahmer | Google Review, September 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I ordered two bookcases and they are absolutely wonderful! Everyone was great to work with from the initial ordering to delivery. They answered all my questions promptly throughout the process. I’ve been gushing about my new bookcases to my family and friends. My only regret is that I didn’t order a third one! I will definitely be using them again in the future!”

— Leah Jones | Google Review, September 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We stopped by the shop wanting to buy a small desk. We left having ordered a desk, a bed and an entertainment center. Love the build and quality. Great look and very customized. We’ve been telling all our friends and family about Unruh Furniture. Unruh comes highly recommended.”

— Jon Males | Google Review, JULY 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We recently ordered 3 pieces of furniture from Unruh Furniture and couldn’t be more pleased! Everything was seamless from the time we placed our order until the furniture arrived. Each piece is absolutely beautiful and we couldn’t be more thrilled with our purchases. LOVE this company, LOVE their craftsmanship! If you are looking for an addition to your home that will withstand the test of time this is the place to go!”

— Steve Doolittle | Google Review, July 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Incredible. We absolutely love our new dining room table. These guys are so professional that I’m blown away. From the first tour we received from Ben at their facility to the details provided around the design of the table, I’ve been impressed the whole time. Even the delivery guys (Kyle and Joel) were great! They were super kind to my 3 year old son as he directed them to where the table went and they were informative of how to clean and take care of the table. I’m so excited for this to be a centerpiece in our family for years to come. I will be buying many more pieces from them in the future. I wish they had interest free financing but that could get dangerous because I would buy far more pieces than I should.”

— Shea McGinnity | Google Review, July 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We love love love our Oxford Pedestal Table, chairs and bench. The craftmanship is outstanding and although we have only had it a few weeks, we are fast building our family traditions including our English Sunday Roast as I am from the UK. I am so happy I found you guys. A friend who bought a table a while back reffered me, and I in return have told everyone who has admired my dining area. We wish you guys much continued sucess and look forward to returning to see Ben when we are ready to add some additional peices to each side of the fire place. What an experience to actually see your furniture being made and a bonus of it being delivered by the craftsmen themselves. Thank you Sam and everyone at Unruh!”

— Dawn Stutzman | Google Review, July 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My husband and I recently had a custom table made for friends. I was a little nervous because we’d never had a custom piece made and weren’t sure how it would turn out. Ben was great. He was knowledgeable, helpful, and patience when I wanted to make changes. The piece was completed ahead of schedule. It looked amazing and our friends loved it!”

— Tricia Smith | Google Review, July 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I had a wonderful experience working with Unruh Furniture. As a first time customer I was a little nervous about ordering a custom piece. Their showroom was helpful in making your final selections. I ended up ordering a dining room table that was modified to be used as a desk. I also ordered a custom daybed. I simply showed Sam a photograph of my idea and he created something that was far better than the photo. It’s one of my favorite pieces! I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Sam and his team. They are true craftsmen!”

— Brian Blumhardt | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We had such a great experience from start to finish with Unruh! I was impressed from my very first communication with these guys. I loved seeing the shop & where everything is made, the ordering process was very easy, and the furniture arrived in a very timely manner, very sweet delivery guys… and the furniture all looks AMAZING! We keep saying we feel like we have a brand new house with the way it all looks. We got a table, chairs, and matching barstools and could not be happier! Will definitely order again in the future! ”

— Lindsay Bowen | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I bought a desk for my home office from Unruh and I love it. The showroom does a great job of showing you what they have. I love the fact that you can customize so much of the product you choose. The quality is awesome, the price value is exceptional and the customer service is outstanding! Could not be happier with this company and glad they are in KC!”

— Peter Malone | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I have been in love with Sam’s furniture for many years and my husband and I were finally in a position to be able to buy some. It was the easiest and most hassel free way to order my furniture when I visited the store. Payment was as simple as it could be and my bed and night stands were ready exactly when they told me it would be. My bed has to be now my favorite piece of furniture in the house. It is amazing. I am in love with it. The bed and nightstands are every thing that I wanted them to be. Sam and his staff were so kind every time I dealt with them. I cannot wait to be able to buy more furniture from him!”

— Tammy Harmon | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I am so pleased with the beautiful table, bench and chairs that we got from Unruh furniture. The entire process was fun. I loved going to the showroom and picking everything out from style to stain colors. The best part of it is that I know that no one has a table just like mine. This is a furniture piece that I want to pass down to my children. Thanks, guys! I am already planning out my next piece!”

— Noelle Davis | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I am so glad to have found this company. They were professional, easy-going, timely, friendly and reasonable. They restored my dining table, making it more beautiful than I could have imagined. I’m grateful for owner/operated business that deliver quality products and service. Thank you Unruh!”

— Beth Archer | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Very happy with our experience with Unruh Furniture! Ben was very nice to work with, the work was done quickly, delivered on time and our pieces are absolutely beautiful! The best part was being able to customize the size to exactly fit our home! ”

— Kristen Martin | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I have placed several orders with Unruh Furniture. The quality of the finished product and the service is unmatched. They produce a beautiful product. I look forward to future purchases through this company.”

— John Boyer | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My husband’s parents offered us to buy us a dining room table for a wedding present, and we had very specific things that we wanted – a large farm house table with a bench that would stand up to use (and abuse!) from future children. When we met with Sam at Unruh, we were pleased with their construction samples in the showroom and knew we would get a product that would make both us very happy. I love to cook for big groups and my husband is an arborist with lots of opinions about wood. The table was delivered last weekend, and we are both extremely pleased. It’s huge (almost 9 feet long), beautiful and well made, and we will be telling lots of people about our outstanding experience with the whole process. Thank you Unruh!”

— Victoria Lynch | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Oh man! There are not enough words to describe how pleased I am about my sideboard media console! I am in LOVE with it! They did an amazing job and it is just beautiful. They were awesome to work with and so kind and polite. I can’t wait to have other pieces made for our house! Thanks Unruh Furniture crew!”

— Jessica Johnson | Google Review, June 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We just received our kitchen table, bench and chairs and absolutely LOVE everything. The guys at Unruh were wonderful to work with. They will definitely be the first call we make next time we need furniture. Thanks, Unruh team!”

— Katie Daniels | Google Review, May 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“After looking at large retail stores for a dining room table and not finding anything we were happy with, we stumbled across Unruh Furniture on Facebook. We were intrigued, as they were a local company and seemed to create beautiful products. We met with Sam at the showroom and were able to see actual tables in the process of construction, pick our design and choose our finish. We are delighted with our new table and know that is a special piece that we’ll have for many years to come. Thank you, Unruh Furniture, for the great service and quality product! ”

— Megan Reece | Google Review, May 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We were knee deep in our renovation project and it was time to find the perfect table which we were hoping would be the focal point of the kitchen. After searching around at all the “big box” stores, a friend suggested we check out this local place called Unruh Furniture. Thank goodness we took her advice! From the first few minutes on the website we knew this is where our table was going to come from. We could feel the love and passion that Sam has for making furniture before we even met him! Our table arrived yesterday and we could not be happier. It is as beautiful as we could have imagined. Thank you Sam and all of the craftsman for creating beautiful pieces of furniture! Not only does it look beautiful in our home but we know, at this table, lasting memories will be made. Thank you Sam and all the guys at Unruh Furniture!”

— Mary Verssue | Google Review, May 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“After MONTHS of looking for the perfect table at every store in the entire Metro, I was at a loss. I just couldn’t find the quality I wanted with the look I wanted. I found Unruh’s website and went to the show room to inspect the quality. The quality was exactly what I was looking for, plus I could pick my own colors and customize it. I received my dining room and kitchen table (I initially went to buy one but couldn’t resist the other) 2 weeks ago. They are simply STUNNING and the craftsmanship is beautiful. I cannot begin to explain how much I love my tables. And a huge THANK YOU to Sam and his staff for making the process so easy. You will always be my first stop for any custom furniture I need made.”

— Jen Gilstrap | Google Review, May 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I cannot say enough good things about Unruh. I looked a long time for something as high quality as our Belmont Pedestal Table. Nothing really compared. Supporting local business is important to me and my family and it made it even more worthwhile when I met with Sam. They have the cutest showroom it allowed me to see the stain colors and quality of work. When it arrived last Saturday my husband and I were so happy with it, its beautiful. It makes our house a home and we cannot wait to have Sunday dinners and fill it with family and friends.”

— Ericka Eiserer | Google Review, April 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Sam the owner is an incredible professional. He is a true craftsman with extreme talent. Also very easy to work with because he is genuine and friendly all around.”

— Tony Thompson | Google Review, April 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We are smitten with our new table, benches and chairs.They make our kitchen! It was smooth and easy ordering, with a good time frame to call up Sam and change our minds with measurements. This brings custom to a whole new level! I highly recommend a visit to the show room. If you like personal service, and high quality completely original handmade furniture, Unruh is your place! ”

— Kate Knowlton | Google Review, April 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Love our table and would recommend buying furniture from Unruh. The table is amazing, the craftsmanship is great and we are really happy with our purchase. We will definitely be coming back!”

— Sandra Woltz | Google Review, April 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I’ve been wanting a solid wood, durable dining table. After shopping around, I decided to give Unruh my business. My dining room table turned beautiful and the customer service was great! The stain (deep mocha) and craftsmanship are really perfect! I will certainly buy another staple piece from them in the future. I love my Stockyard Table paired with some formal nail head trim chairs, my dining room looks like it’s straight out of the Pottery Barn magazine…only mine is hand made locally!”

— Courtney Ferrier | Google Review, April 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I had been looking for the “perfect” table/island for our 70’s kitchen for a long time, but had no luck until I discovered Unruh Furniture. After seeing my son and daughter-in-law’s shelves that Sam built for them, I visited the website and found the exact table (Barnyard) I had been looking for. I was able to order the measurements and finish needed for our kitchen. My whole family LOVES this table! We get compliments on it all the time. It’s not only beautiful, but very sturdy as well. The whole ordering process was extremely easy and Sam’s customer service is excellent! I highly recommend them and will be ordering more furniture in the future!”

— Deborah Williams | Google Review, March 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh has high quality, custom pieces for essentially the same price you’d pay for something you *might* learn to love at a big box furniture retailer. We purchased a hairpin dining room table and love it. We’ll be back as our house evolves and we come up with another project!”

— Brandon Laughridge | Google Review, March 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We were remodeling our basement and nothing seemed to look right. I looked at all the major places, NFM, Crowley, Ashley, and nothing would fit the picture I had in my head. We have a large TV an L shaped basement that we hang out in a lot. I ran across a lot of Sam’s furniture suddenly on Craig’s list and fell in love. It had the right colors, dimensions and customization that we were looking for. The best part was it was in the budget! Unruh furniture was wonderful to work with and our whole family loves the new piece.”

— Nancy Koch | Google Review, March 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My wife and I were looking for a rustic kitchen table to complete our kitchen remodel. We had searched online plus we checked out the major retail stores and local antique shops. Didn’t find anything that met our needs. We came across Sam Unruh and his business online. Sam and his crew created an uber cool kitchen table for us using the legs from a drop leaf table that was from my grandmother’s farm house in NE Kansas. Sam was courteous and professional….listened to our wants and built an heirloom for our kitchen that we will enjoy and use. Very happy with our experience and we plan to be a repeat customer in the near future.”

— James Schaible | Google Review, March 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I found Unruh Furniture on craigslist and was intrigued with the unique designs and stain/paint combinations. I decided to visit the showroom personally before making any decisions about ordering and was really impressed with the customer service and Sam’s professionalism. I had a sideboard made for our renovated basement and had really high expectations for it. There were a few technical difficulties on both of our ends that came up during the process that had me worried I made the wrong choice. But, thanks to Sam and his designers, we were able to overcome all of the unique obstacles and I can honestly say I 100% recommend Unruh Furniture because of the commitment every member of the team has to delivering a beautiful piece of furniture as well as being loyal to deliver customer satisfaction. ”

— Mary Williams | Google Review, March 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“My husband and I recently purchased a new home. While we were furniture shopping, we came across Unruh Furniture…lucky us! We made an appointment to go visit right away. Before we knew it, the farm table (and a beautiful sideboard!) I had wanted for years was being hand made – just for us! Sam was professional, kind, and extremely helpful in guiding us from dream to delivery. Everyone that sits at my gorgeous dining table wants to know where it came from. I can only imagine how many meals we will share with family and friends at this table.”

— Erin Brown | Google Review, March 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“These guys make awesome furniture! My wife and I are so happy we found Unruh Furniture, they make great quality pieces and give you endless options to choose from in customizing your furniture. We just recieved our first order, and are very pleased. We are eagerly awaiting our second order from Unruh and consider them the top option for furniture in KC. Sam is also very good to work with, and you can tell that he and his team have a great passion for the work they do. ”

— Colin Murphy | Google Review, February 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We contacted Sam about creating a Farmhouse dining room table for the 1930 Farmhouse we were renovating. I was nervous about the entire process because I had never designed and purchased furniture before. Sam was very kind and helped walk me through the process. He even set up a paypal account so I could pay him securely. When we picked up our table, we were beyond ecstatic with the way it turned out. It truly is beautiful and we receive compliments on it from every single person that comes to our house. We are finishing up remodeling our master bedroom now, and once its complete, we will be designing and ordering a bed from Sam. ”

— Mary Krejci | Google Review, February 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I ordered a Tennessee Sideboard from Unruh Furniture. Sam was very helpful and patient as I changed the dimensions after submitting the form. He kept in contact throughout the process via e-mail, even contacting me because of an upcoming holiday. The piece is beautiful. This is quality workmanship and the piece is VERY heavy, totally worth the price. I’m hoping to order a leaning bookshelf soon. I did not see a picture of one on his website, so I e-mailed Sam and he said he could do it!”

— Cherri Costelow | Google Review, February 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“We purchased a pedestal table from Sam at Unruh Furniture for our kitchen. I had very specific measurements that I wanted so I visited the showroom and Sam made it very easy. There were a lot of options as far as color/finish, so I got to walk around and see exactly what my finished product would look like. Sam gave me a date that the table would be ready and several days before he emailed with details as to when it would be delivered. It was ready exactly on time and it is exactly what we were wanting. I love the table! It is very durable, as we have two kids that have already put it to the test. This will be a table that we have for years to come and could even pass it down! Thanks for making such a wonderful piece for our family!”

— Stephani Bowne | Google Review, February 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Be patient, it takes time to get custom, hand-made furniture. But, once we got the finished product, we couldn’t have been happier! The kitchen table fit perfectly. We needed an odd size for the space we were using and it was made to spec. The wood used is new solid wood but we wanted a “worn” look which Sam executed well! It looks like an old farm table. We also had a platform bed made with a lighter stain to match the bedroom. We couldn’t find anything we liked in the stores and described what we wanted. It turned out fantastic and, again, fit in the room perfectly. The prices are reasonable and the quality is better than the wholesale stores. I would HIGHLY recommend Unruh Furniture for anyone who wants original, quality furniture.”

— Carolyn Day | Google Review, February 2015 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I ordered the Bedford Table and the Dover Hutch. Both pieces are beautiful. They are very well finished. Both pieces have a vintage look, while being nice, new pieces. They are clearly handmade while being completely professional. One of the things I am most excited for is to see how they age. It is clear that they will develop even more character over time. Sam, the owner, was friendly and professional during the entire process. I had made an initial mistake on the order that we fixed quickly. Any other issues were resolved quickly and in a courteous and professional manner. The delivery drivers were careful with the product, kept me informed of when they would be arriving, and were able to install the pieces quickly. They were also very friendly. The prices are good for the high quality of the product they store produces. I highly recommend Unruh Furniture.”

— Ethan Ziph-Sigler | Google Review, December 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Craftsmanship, pride, artistry. I asked Unruh Furniture to build a desk for my home office, and they delivered a heirloom – I couldn’t be happier! Thanks guys!”

— Greg Metz | Google Review, December 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I purchased a coffee table from Unruh Furniture about 6 months ago after realizing the second hand furniture I previously had just wasn’t cutting it anymore. After looking around numerous places, I found Unruh and loved the way their furniture strikes a great balance between rustic and contemporary. The table I bought will be able to fit in with any style to come. I can’t recommend Unruh Furniture enough, especially if you want to customize your new piece of furniture and truly make it your own.”

— J. Clark Poland | Google Review, December 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Sam offers quality custom furniture and exceptional customer service. Not only do I love the coffee tables in my living room, but I’ve already got a plan to order more for my entire house. Affordable and Local – I will definitely work with Sam and his team again! ”

— Nicole Turner | Google Review, December 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Great experience overall. I really appreciate someone like Sam who clearly gets the concept of form and function working together. We’ve had a lot of people ask about the farmhouse table he did for us and we’re of course more than happy to tell them all about Unruh Furniture.”

— Brett Logan | Google Review, November 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Sam’s ability to design and create what you are looking for is truly exceptional! He values the customer as an individual and works hard to produce a unique, high-quality product. He takes pride in each piece of furniture and makes sure you are happy! ”

— Parisa Saravi | Google Review, November 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Working with Sam and his team was an all-around fantastic experience! They were incredibly professional, prompt, responsive and super friendly. And the quality of work is impeccable – his beautiful furniture proves that Sam and his team are truly passionate and meticulous about what they do. I absolutely LOVE the pieces Sam made for us – they’re unique and beautiful, and exactly what we needed. It was so easy and pleasant working with Sam to determine what type of piece I needed for my space and how best to accomplish it. He worked within my timeline and budget, and the finished product exceeded my expectations! Everyone at Unruh was exceptionally helpful – from the first email to helping us load our tables once they were finished. Every person who comes into our office compliments me on the tables and asks where we got them. Thank you Sam and the team at Unruh! I can’t wait until I have another furniture need and get the opportunity to work with you again.”

— Lisa Crissman | Google Review, November 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh Furniture is a wonderful company to work with!! We were looking for a VERY custom piece and had several very specific requests. Sam was super accommodating, and came up with the perfect design to fulfill our needs. Communication was very speedy, and we couldn’t be happier with the final product!”

— Emily Piper | Google Review, October 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“I have never purchased an piece of furniture from Unruh Furniture but I have watched the company grow from a backyard garage endeavor to a warehoused enterprise. Sam Unruh is a hard working man who takes pride in anything he puts his hands and heart to–from cabinets to friends to his family. As a customer you will receive the same kind of care and attention that Sam puts into the piece of furniture you ask him to make. Now that he has expanded he has collected a staff of equally caring individuals who put all they can into each handmade item. I know if I lived even a few hundred miles closer I would have a piece by Unruh–a piece that would inevitably bring style, energy and comfort–in my home.”

— Simon Skold | Google Review, October 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh Furniture is a wonderful company to work with!! We were looking for a VERY custom piece and had several very specific requests. Sam was super accommodating, and came up with the perfect design to fulfill our needs. Communication was very speedy, and we couldn’t be happier with the final product!”

— Emily Piper | Google Review, October 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“If you are looking for furniture that is well built and a great price, Unruh Furniture is the place to go. Sam does not use cheap particle board used in most furniture today, he uses all solid wood, making for a great piece of furniture for generations to come.”

— Andrew Mullet | Google Review, October 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Sam and his team are definitely masters of their craft. They created 5 great pieces for me with limited direction. Any questions / concerns that you have throughout the process they will take the time to walk you through until you feel comfortable with your decisions. I will be buying all of my future furniture from Sam as his quality and price combination cant be beat. ”

— Dusty Gray | Google Review, September 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



“Unruh Furniture creates custom made high end furniture at very good rates. I have had a buffet table and a dining room table made by Unruh furniture. I was able to have furniture made that fit the space available in my home rather than go to a store and make compromises about what I wanted.”

— Mark Hale | Google Review, August 2014 | ★ ★ ★ ★ ★